#### RIEGELSVILLE BOROUGH COUNCIL Municipal Building Approved Re-organization Meeting January 02, 2024

The reorganization meeting of the Riegelsville Borough Council was called to order on January 2, 2024, at 7:00 p.m. by Mayor Viana Boenzli. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, roll call was taken. PRESENT: Thomas E Stinnett, Ed Bartosiewicz, Gary Chase, Rodney Scott, Michael Pulsinelli, and Sherry Masteller.

3 Borough Residents present.

Mayor Viana Boenzli was sworn in by Judge Gambardella for a (2-year term).

Mayor Boenzli issued the oath of office for newly elected Council Members, Gary Chase (4year term), Thomas E Stinnett (4- year term), and Michael Pulsinelli (2-year term).

Mayor Boenzli asked for nominations for President of Council. **R. Scott motioned to** appoint **T. Stinnett as President of Council. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous.** 

Mayor Boenzli asked for nominations for Vice President of Council. G. Chase motioned to appoint Rodney Scott as Vice President of Council. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous.

Mayor Boenzli asked for nominations for President Pro Tempore. **R. Scott motioned to** appoint **G. Chase as President Pro Tempore. E. Bartosiewicz seconded. Unanimous.** Mayor Boenzli turned the chair over to President T. Stinnett.

T. Stinnett read each appointment:

Borough Secretary– Sherry Masteller, G. Chase motioned to appoint. E. Bartosiewicz seconded. Unanimous

Borough Treasurer- *Tammy Macaluso,* **G. Chase motioned to appoint. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous** 

Public Works Supervisor- *Matt Brady,* **R. Scott motioned to appoint. E. Bartosiewicz seconded. Unanimous** 

Depositories – Penn Community Bank &

PA Local Government Investment Trust, G. Chase motioned to appoint. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous

Auditor – Zelenkofske Axelrod LLC, G. Chase motioned to appoint. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous

G. Chase reported that after Borough Council approved William Dudeck-Borough Solicitor's resignation as of 1/1/24 during the December 13, 2023, Borough Council meeting he started to reach out to solicitors that other municipalities use also. During this search it was narrowed down to our current firm Eastburn and Gray, PC, Clemens Richter & Reiss and Wisler Pearlstine, LLP. All 3 firms emailed proposals to the Borough Council. Teams meetings were set up with each firm-Tom, Rodney and Sherry attended these calls. Gary asked each Council member and Sherry for their thoughts and concerns on each firm. Each Council member and Sherry spoke. Borough Resident asked if the 3 firms are going to attend a Council meeting, T. Stinnet stated that we all have information to appoint a solicitor tonight. **G. Chase motioned to appoint Clemens Richter & Reiss as Borough Solicitor Rodney seconded. Unanimous** G. Chase stated that Scott MacNair will be our primary contact.

Engineer – *Cowan Associates, Inc.* **R. Scott motioned to appoint. E. Bartosiewicz seconded. Unanimous** 

Water System Operator – *Private Utility Enterprises, Inc.* **R. Scott motioned to appoint. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous** 

Zoning Office/Building Inspector – *Keystone Municipal Services*, **G. Chase motioned to** appoint **E. Bartosiewicz seconded**. **Unanimous** 

Ordinance Enforcement Official – *August Groller*, **E. Bartosiewicz motioned to appoint**. **G. Chase seconded.** Unanimous

Vacancy Board Chairperson – *Allen Madnick*, E. Bartosiewicz motioned to appoint. R. Scott seconded. Unanimous

Tax Collection Committee (TCC) delegates-

Primary voting delegate: Thomas Stinnett

First alternate: Edward Bartosiewicz

Second alternate: Vacant- (Resolution to appoint G. Chase 1/10/24)

R. Scott motioned for the above appointments and to appoint G. Chase with Resolution. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous.

Palisades Regional Fire Rescue (PRFR) "Municipal Advisory Board" is requesting one Representative from Borough Council to join this board. E. Bartosiewicz motioned to appoint Rodney Scott to the board. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous

#### **Boards:**

T. Stinnett read Zoning Board 3-year seat reappointment. Allen Madnick 2024-2026

E. Bartosiewicz motioned to appoint. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous

T. Stinnett read Planning Commission- 4-year seat reappointments. John Panasiuk David Brandes Jason Anderson

G. Chase motioned to appoint. R. Scott seconded. Unanimous

## RIEGELSVILLE BOROUGH COUNCIL MEETING

January 02, 2024 - Page 2

T. Stinnett read Library Board of Trustees:

Beth Banko Ken Banko-President Beth Banko Ken Banko-President Marshal Miller-Secretary Charles (Terry) Fritz David Oleksa- Vice President Brooke Hennessy

## E. Bartosiewicz motioned to appoint. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous

T. Stinnett read Recreation Board 4-year seat. Dirk Odhner-2026 Sherry Masteller-2026 Rodney Scott-2026 Ed Bartosiewicz-2026 Marie Brown-2027

G. Chase motioned to appoint. M. Pulsinelli seconded. Unanimous

- T. Stinnett read BOCA Board of Appeals- *5-year seat.* Edward Norman Jr. 2026 Glenn Hissim 2026 Michael Craig 2027 Greg Ort-Alternate 2027 E. Bartosiewicz motioned to reappoint. R. Scott seconded. Unanimous
  - T. Stinnett read Emergency Management Team 2-year seat 2022-2024. Frank Preedy-Coordinator Jason Anderson-Deputy Dominick Angione/ appointed 2022 Roger Vonah/ appointed 2022

## G. Chase motioned to reappoint. E. Bartosiewicz seconded. Unanimous

# R. Scott motioned to adopt the current Borough Bylaws from 1994. G. Chase seconded. Unanimous.

T. Stinnett stated that the Chair of the Committees will be as follows: Streets & Properties- Rodney Scott Finance-Michael Pulsinelli Community Affairs-Ed Bartosiewicz Utilities-Gary Chase

T. Stinnett asked if there was any New Business, none at this time.

Adjourned 7:30pm.

Borough Council Meeting: January 10, 2024, 7pm

Sherry Masteller, Borough Secretary